Connect with us


Europa League Final: Chelsea Beat Arsenal To Win Title



Eden Hazard

Chelsea are the new Europa League winners after they thrashed London rivals Arsenal in their final clash in Baku, Azerbaijan.

The Blues defeated Arsenal 4-1 to seal a first Europa League title since 2012 when they saw off Portuguese giants Benfica.

Arsenal needed to win the Europa League title to seal qualification for a place in Europe’s premier club competition.

The Gunners made a bright start to the game but they were unable to take the chance that came their way through Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

Chelsea improved as the half wore on and they could have taken the lead through Olivier Giroud who drew a good save from Arsenal goalkeeper Petr Cech who was playing the final game of his long professional career as both teams were unable to find the back of the net.

Giroud was not to be denied after the halftime time interval as he powered home a 48th-minute header to give Chelsea the lead.

Pedro Rodriguez added a second goal for Chelsea almost immediately before Giroud was brought down in the box for Eden Hazard to score the third goal from the spot.

Arsenal substitute Alex Iwobi pulled one back with the best goal of the game before Hazard wrapped up the 4-1 win in what could be his last game for Chelsea amidst the interest from Spanish giants Real Madrid.

Chelsea manager Maurizio Sarri masterminded the thumping win for the West Londoners to win the first trophy of his career while Arsenal boss Unai Emery and his players will have to contend with the Europa League for one more season.